Scottish Open Winners

LUSS, UNITED KINGDOM - JULY 15: Gregory Havret of France is drenched with champagne by Raphael Jacquelin of France following his victory in a play off with Phil Mickelson of USA during the final round of The Barclays Scottish Open at Loch Lomond Golf Club on July 15, 2007 in Luss, Scotland. (Photo by Richard Heathcote/Getty Images)Between 1973 and 1986, the Scottish Open wasn’t played. Since 1986 though, it has been an annual event and a highlight on the European Tour golfing calendar. Scottish Open winners include some of the world’s top-ranked golfers. They also represent the typically international flavour of the field for the tournament, with winners from countries such as Argentina, Australia and South Africa joining top-notch European golfers.

Ian Woosnam holds the record for number of Scottish Open wins – he won the Scottish Open at Gleneagles in 1987 and 1990, and the Scottish Open at Carnoustie in 1996. Ernie Els follows Ian Woosnam, having won two Scottish Opens – in 2000 and 2003, both times at Loch Lomond.

In 2007, Phil Mickelson narrowly missed his chance at becoming a Scottish Open winner when Grégory Havret defeated him at the first hole in a playoff to take the prize. See Scottish Open 2007 for more details. Ireland’s Grame McDowell took the 2008 Scottish Open title, defeating Simon Khan and James Kingston, 28-year-old McDowell pocketed over £500,000 in prize money.




Total Prize Fund

The Barclays Scottish Open

2008 Graeme McDowell (NIR) Loch Lomond €6,310,449
2007 Grégory Havret (FRA) Loch Lomond €4,394,876
2006 Johan Edfors (SWE) Loch Lomond €3,452,332
2005 Tim Clark (RSA) Loch Lomond €3,564,987
2004 Thomas Levet (FRA) Loch Lomond €3,305,598
2003 Ernie Els (RSA) Loch Lomond €3,230,901
2002 Eduardo Romero (ARG) Loch Lomond €3,458,773

The Scottish Open at Loch Lomond

2001 Retief Goosen (RSA) Loch Lomond €3,666,058

Standard Life Loch Lomond

2000 Ernie Els (RSA) Loch Lomond €1,761,626
1999 Colin Montgomerie (SCO) Loch Lomond €1,414,637
1998 Lee Westwood (ENG) Loch Lomond £856,355

Gulfstream Loch Lomond World Invitational

1997 Tom Lehman ( USA) Loch Lomond £809,544

Loch Lomond World Invitational

1996* Thomas Bjørn (DEN) Loch Lomond £754,488

Scottish Open

1996* Ian Woosnam (WAL) Carnoustie £484,290
1995 Wayne Riley (AUS) Carnoustie £660,615

Bell’s Scottish Open

1994 Carl Mason (ENG) Gleneagles £603,588
1993 Jesper Parnevik (SWE) Gleneagles £608,028
1992 Peter O’Malley (AUS) Gleneagles £604,480
1991 Craig Parry (AUS) Gleneagles £501,498
1990 Ian Woosnam (1990) Gleneagles £401,980
1989 Michael Allen (USA) Gleneagles £301,770
1988 Barry Lane(ENG) Gleneagles £250,498
1987 Ian Woosnam (WAL) Gleneagles £200,594
1986 David Feherty (IRE) Haggs Castle, Glasgow £131,098

Sunbeam Electric Scottish Open

1973 Graham Marsh (AUS) St. Andrews, Old Course £14,467
1972 Neil Coles (ENG) Downfield Golf Club, Dundee £9,122

* Two Scottish Open tournaments were played in 1996.

Who do you think will be the Scottish Open winner?